Framingham Online News

Framingham Students Awarded 2013-2014 IAFSA Scholarships

Filed under: Schools & Education by News Staff at 5:06 pm on July 29, 2013

FRAMINGHAM, MA - The Independent Association of Framingham State Alumni, (IAFSA), is pleased to announce its 2013-2014 scholarship winners.

This year IAFSA is granting awards to a record 62 Framingham State University students. Scholarships range from $250 to $2,500. Recipients were chosen based upon their area of study, academic achievement, financial need, hometown, and campus involvement.

Several Framingham residents received awards. Tiana Graham and Molly McKinnon were selected to receive the Murtaugh Scholarship, which is available to graduates of any high school in Framingham who attend Framingham State, with preference given to the offspring of police, fire, or military personnel. McKinnon also received the James Akillian Scholarship.

Other Framingham students who received scholarships are: Stephanie Williams, The Mary Bond Scholarship; Yana Martushkina, The Dorothy Larned International Scholarship; and Thierry Aka and Sally Birch who both received Betty Whitney Scholarships.

Three students from Natick received scholarships, including: Emily Carr, The Murtaugh Scholarship, and Juliana Marra and Elizabeth Sulser, Betty Whitney Scholarships.

Courtney Welsh of Hopkinton was awarded the David and Margaret Foley Scholarship.

Two Marlborough residents received awards: Tanya Lopes received a Class of 1941 Scholarship and Fathia Jaara received the Mary Melley Cotter Scholarship.

Two men from Medway were recipients: Richard Carbonaro received the Alumni General Scholarship and Robert Cardoza, a Betty Whitney Scholarship.

Other 2013-2014 IAFSA Scholarship recipients include:

  • Justine Gordon of Ashby, Margaret Akillian Scholarship
  • Yue Chen of Boston, Alumni General Boston Scholarship
  • Acadia Emidy of Blackstone Alumni General Worcester County Scholarship
  • Melissa Quimby of Methuen, Susana R. Bernard Scholarship
  • Alyssa Trybus of Bondsville, Susana R. Bernard Scholarship
  • Kayla Simpson of Wakefield, Mary Bond Scholarship
  • Brianna Flynn of Pittsfield, Cannes Internship Scholarship
  • Stephan Manning of Plainville, Cannes Internship Scholarship
  • Victoria Dost of North Easton, Carr Scholarship
  • Jane Duford, of North Dighton, Carr Scholarship
  • Danielle Mastalerz of Attleboro, Carr Scholarship
  • Michelle Tocci of Newton, Mary Melley Cotter Scholarship
  • Allison Morton of Westford, Janet Chisholm Dolan Scholarship
  • Kerrin Murray of Kingston, Marilyn Foley Scholarship
  • Julianna Coughlin of Auburn, Stuart B. Foster Scholarship
  • Ryan Gebo of Webster, Stuart B. Foster Scholarship
  • Zoe Coburn of Bernardston, Mildred Boice Germain Scholarship
  • Katelyn Hanlon of Easthampton, Mildred Boice Germain Scholarship
  • Karissa Kilhart of Orange, Mildred Boice Germain Scholarship
  • Kendra Lohr of Southhampton, Mildred Boice Germain Scholarship
  • Roseanna Ward of Millbury, Kathleen Browne Ittig Scholarship, Debra Osier Scholarship
  • Sarusha Subermony of Shrewsbury and South Africa, Dorothy Larned International Scholarship
  • Shuo Shen of Westborough and China, Dorothy Larned International Scholarship
  • Edwine Elie of Brockton, Ethel Groves Lucas Scholarship
  • Penny Tallent of Holbrook, Christine Carley Malzone Scholarship
  • Cassandra Ferragamo of Medford, D. Justin McCarthy Scholarship
  • Jess Thomas of Stow, Paul T. Murphy Memorial Scholarship
  • Alyssa Duprey of Boylston, Paul T. Murphy Memorial Scholarship
  • Kendall Valente of Wrentham, Catherine Parker Scholarship
  • Andrew Turbesi of Millville, Edward and Eunice Phillips Scholarship
  • Arianna Levesque of Hyannis, Boston Chapter of the American Sewing Guild Scholarship
  • Lindsey Allard of Bellingham, Ada Shawkey Scholarship
  • Kimberley Edick of Brookfield, Gladys Felton Taylor Scholarship
  • Samatha Boland of Billerica, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Gina Mickiewicz of East Longmeadow, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Tyler Ranauro of East Falmouth, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Autumn Richard of Millis, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Eric Scott of Medfield, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Deborah Toupouzis of Everett, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Samantha Englehart of Worcester, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Chelsea Greene of Oxford, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Angela Kelly of Weymouth, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Allison Kittredge of Milford, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Stephanie Osborn of Plymouth, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Melissa Skerry of Lakeville, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Sarah Walker of Billerica, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Monique Vacon of Monson, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Cristina Valente of Malden, Betty Whitney Scholarship

A reception to honor the scholarship recipients will be held at the Alumni House on Sunday, September 29, 2013.

IAFSA is a self-governing, charitable, non-profit organization established in 1874 by dedicated alumni. IAFSA continues its tradition of service to Framingham State University students by receiving and administering funds that provide scholarships and benevolent assistance while maintaining the Alumni House for member and community functions.

IAFSA, offers approximately 30 scholarships and awards to Framingham State University students as well as interest-free loans. Some scholarships have multiple recipients. Scholarships and loan funding are provided by donations and bequests.

Visit the IAFSA website:, for information about scholarships, loan applications, or to make an online donation, and for information about Alumni House.

IAFSA’s office is located in the Alumni House, 42 Adams Road, Framingham, MA 01702. Telephone is 508-872-9770; email address is:


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Home Page
Privacy Policy
Site Map
Advertising Info
Contact Us
Framingham News
Framingham Weather
Framingham Calendar of Events
Framingham Sports
Framingham Organizations
Framingham Cable TV
Framingham Business Directory
Framingham Schools
Framingham History
Framingham Real Estate
Framingham Restaurants
Copyright ©1995-2018, all rights reserved.

Click here to return to home page...
---------- [ end of content ] ----------