Framingham Online News

Fifty Scholarships Awarded by IAFSA

July 12, 2012 (12:18 pm EST)
Filed under: Schools & Education by News Staff
Alumni House, Framingham State University

Alumni House, home of IAFSA

FRAMNGHAM, MA - The Independent Association of Framingham State Alumni (IAFSA) is pleased to announce its 2012-2013 scholarship winners.

IAFSA offers approximately 30 scholarships and awards to Framingham State University students as well as interest-free loans. Some scholarships have multiple recipients. Scholarships and loan funding are provided by donations, bequests, and rental of the Alumni House.

This year IAFSA is granting awards to a record 50 Framingham State University students.   Scholarships range from $250 to $3,000.

Two Framingham students, Gilana Telles and Tamara Rosario, were selected to receive the new Murtaugh Scholarship. The Murtaugh Scholarship honors the memory of former Framingham residents Thomas H. and Mary H. Murtaugh. Lt. Col. Murtaugh, ret. USAF, was a graduate of Manhattan College. He taught mathematics at the college level and also instructed members of the New York City Police and Fire Departments. Mary Murtaugh was a graduate of The Babies Hospital nursing program in New York City. This new scholarship was established in their honor by their daughter, Joan E. Murtaugh ’61, who taught for 36 years in the Framingham Public Schools. Graduates of any high school in Framingham who attend Framingham State may apply, with preference given to the offspring of police, fire, or military personnel.

Other Framingham students who received scholarships are:  Randall Kelleher, IAFSA Alumni General Scholarship; Herbert Kyles, Northern California Framingham Alumni Club Scholarship; Buffy Cope, Class of 1944 Scholarship; and Elizabeth Bell, who was awarded the Boston Chapter of the American Sewing Guild Memorial Scholarship.

Devan Savlon of Hopkinton was awarded the David and Margaret Foley Scholarship. This scholarship was established by Margaret F. Harris and David J. Foley in memory of their parents.  Margaret E. (Madigan) Foley, ’26, was a lifelong resident of Hopkinton who graduated from Framingham Normal School (now Framingham State University) and taught for 42 years in the Hopkinton Public Schools. David A. Foley, a retired postal employee and long time resident of Hopkinton, ran the College Bookstore at Framingham State in the late 1960’s.  Both were deeply interested in the Hopkinton Public Schools and the education of future teachers. The award is available to Framingham State students who are graduates of Hopkinton Junior-Senior High School.

Two Marlborough residents received awards:  Julie Cain-Mailly received a Class of 1954 Scholarship and Fathia Jaara received the Mary Melley Cotter Scholarship which was funded by donations made in Mary’s memory at the time of her death in 1981 and by a gift from Paul and Kathleen Cotter. Melley Cotter, Class of 1962, served as president of IAFSA and was awarded the Distinguished Service Award in 1981.  She was active in the field of Home Economics education, earned a Ph.D. from Pennsylvania State University, and joined the faculty of Framingham State College where she was involved with many committees and initiatives.

Other 2012-2013 IAFSA Scholarship recipients include:

  • Patrick Lamusta of Lynnfield, James Akillian Scholarship
  • Rebecca Smith of West Bridgewater, Margaret Akillian Scholarship
  • Johanna Fortunato of Dorchester, Alumni General Boston Scholarship
  • Corey Ciullo of Leominster, Alumni General Worcester County Scholarship
  • Fatma Eren of Somerville, Alumni General Graduate Scholarship
  • Leah Alvey of Groton, Mary Bond Scholarship
  • Mackenzie Souza of Fall River, John A. and Eileen F. Carr Scholarship
  • Taryn Theriault, of Dartmouth, John A. and Eileen F. Carr Scholarship
  • Jessica Trask of Mansfield, John A. and Eileen F. Carr Scholarship
  • Kaitlin McCabe of Acton, Class of 1944 Scholarship
  • Ashley Cox of Marshfield, Class of 1954 Scholarship
  • Angela Martin of Dracut, Mary Melley Cotter Scholarship
  • Kayla McFarland of Worcester, Janet Chisholm Dolan Scholarship
  • Sarah Coughlin of Franklin, Stuart B. Foster Scholarship
  • Jennifer Navaroli of Maynard, Stuart B. Foster Scholarship
  • Jennifer Barnes of Belchertown, Mildred Boice Germain Scholarship
  • Danielle Smith of Wendell, Mildred Boice Germain Scholarship
  • Jillian Waters of Orange, Mildred Boice Germain Scholarship
  • Olivia Harvey of East Bridgewater, Kathleen Browne Ittig Scholarship
  • Oyama Leqela of Newton and South Africa, Dorothy Larned International Scholarship
  • Shuo Shen of Westborough and China, Dorothy Larned International Scholarship
  • Spencer Buell of Shrewsbury, Marilyn Foley Scholarship
  • Katelyn Lorrey of Burlington, Ethel Groves Lucas Scholarship
  • Emily Montville of Milford, Christine Carley Malzone Scholarship
  • Brian Castellanos of Salem, D. Justin McCarthy Scholarship
  • Jess Thomas of Stow, Paul T. Murphy Memorial Scholarship
  • Kimberley Edick of Brookfield, Debra Osier Scholarship
  • Nicholas Magliozzi of Attleboro, Catherine Parker Scholarship
  • Kaitlyn Monroe of Southboro, Edward and Eunice Phillips Scholarship
  • Jaymes Peckham of Pawtucket, RI, Ada Shawkey Scholarship
  • Hillary Estes of Bennington, VT, Gladys Felton Taylor Scholarship
  • Ami Barroso of Ludlow, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Samatha Boland of Billerica, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Shannan Cotter of Whitman, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Jared Ghioto of Bass River, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Alicia Heymann of Townsend, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Joseph Kourieh of Bellingham, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Arianna Levesque of Hyannis, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Anthony Pires of Randolph, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Melissa Quimby of Methuen, Betty Whitney Scholarship
  • Kayla Simpson of Wakefield, Betty Whitney Scholarship

The Betty Whitney Scholarships are made possible by a bequest from Adah Elizabeth (Betty) Whitney, a member of the class of 1935, whose degree in nutrition from Framingham State enabled her to become a pioneer in early television, work in Saudi Arabia, and travel the world.  For more information about Betty Whitney and to read about the other scholarships, see

A reception to honor the scholarship recipients will be held at the Alumni House on Sunday, October 21, 2012.

IAFSA is a self-governing, non-profit organization established in 1874 by dedicated alumni.  IAFSA continues its tradition of service to Framingham State University students by receiving and administering funds that provide scholarships and benevolent assistance while maintaining the Alumni House for member and community functions.

IAFSA’s office is located in the Alumni House, 42 Adams Road, Framingham, MA  01702.  Telephone is 508-872-9770; email address is:

See the IAFSA website,, for scholarship and loan applications, to make an online donation, and for information about renting the Alumni House for your next business or family function.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.